My 3 year old insists on sleeping on the floor. Should I let him?

My 3 year old insists on sleeping on the floor. Should I let him? by Clare Celea

Answer by Clare Celea:

Here's a parenting tip that is going to save your sanity:

Never make an issue of something that doesn't matter. New parents often feel they have to have Rules about things – you really don't. Have rules about the things that are important. Be kind. Gentle hands. Brush your teeth. Don't run into the road. These things matter.

I am actually struggling to think of an issue that could matter less than your example. There is no possible gain to be had from forcing him to sleep in his bed, except that you have made him do what you want and not what he wants. (This, incidentally, is massively overrated.)

Save your parenting energy and authority for the stuff that is actually important.

My 3 year old insists on sleeping on the floor. Should I let him?

Leave a Reply

